Home » Articole » Articles » World » Europe » United Kingdom » London » Royal Parks of London

Royal Parks of London

Greenwich Park(View of Queens House and Canary Wharf from Greenwich Park)

The Royal Parks of London are green spaces in the capital of the United Kingdom, which properly belong to the British Crown.

These are generally old hunting reserves of the royal family made available to the public, access to green spaces being left to the discretion of the Crown.

The Royal Parks of London has a total area of 22 square kilometers of Greater London.

There are eight green spaces:

  • Bushy Park, 445 hectares (1,100 acres)
  • Green Park, 19 hectares (47 acres)
  • Greenwich Park, 74 hectares (180 acres)
  • Hyde Park, 142 hectares (350 acres)
  • Kensington Gardens, 111 hectares (270 acres)
  • Regent’s Park, 166 hectares (410 acres)
  • Richmond Park, 955 hectares (2,360 acres (9.6 km2))
  • St. James’s Park, 23 hectares (57 acres)


The Royal Parks Agency, executive agency depending of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, manages these parks under the powers of the Act on Crown land in 1851. The Metropolitan Police Service ensures the safety of places (since the Royal Parks Constabulary was abolished in 2004). As part of its duties, the Royal Parks Agency allows the public to use the park for recreational purposes, subject to the regulations made under the Parks Act are considered necessary to ensure the proper management, preserve order and prevent abuse. Current regulations on the royal parks and other spaces dates back to 1997.

The funding of the Royal Parks essentially through a government grant, and by commercial activities (such as catering) and the staging of public events (such as concerts) taking place in parks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *