Home » Articole » EN » Games » Gambling » Gambling World » Europe » EU Member States

EU Member States


English name Membership year Code Local name Capital Official language(s) Currency
Austria 1995 AT Österreich Vienna German (de) euro (€)
Belge 1957 BE Belgique, België, Belgien Bruxelles French (fr), Dutch (nl), German (de) euro (€)
Bulgaria 2007 BG България (Bulgaria) Sofia Bulgarian (bg) lev (BGN)
Croatia 2013          
CyprusN 1 2004 CY Κύπρος (Kýpros), Kıbrıs Nicosia Greek (el), Turkish (tr) euro (€),
Turkish lira (TRY)N 2
Denmark 1973 DK Danmark Copenhagen Danish (da) Danish krone(DKK)
Estonia 2004 EE Eesti Tallinn Estonian (et) euro (€)
Finland 1995 FI Suomi Helsinki Finnish (fi), Swedish (sv) euro (€)
France 1957 FR France Paris French (fr) euro (€)
Germany 1957 DE Deutschland Berlin German (de) euro (€)
Greece 1981 EL, GRN 3 Ελλάδα (Elláda), Ελλάς (Ellás) Athens Greek (el) euro (€)
Hungary 2004 HU Magyarország Budapest Hungarian (hu) forint (HUF)
Irland 1973 IE Éire, Ireland Dublin Irish (ga), English (en) euro (€)
Italy 1957 IT Italia Rome Italian (it) euro (€)
Latvia 2004 LV Latvija Riga Latvian (lv) lats (LVL)
Lithuania 2004 LT Lietuva Vilnius Lithuanian (lt) litas (LTL)
Luxembourg 1957 LU Lëtzebuerg, Luxembourg, Luxemburg Luxembourg Luxembourg (lb), French (fr), German (de) euro (€)
Malta 2004 MT Malta La Valette Maltese (mt), English (en) euro (€)
Netherlands 1957 NL Nederland AmsterdamN 4 Dutch (nl) euro (€)
Poland 2004 PL Polska Warsaw Polish (pl) złoty (PLN)
Portugal 1986 PT Portugal Lisbon Portuguese (pt) euro (€)
Czech Republic 2004 CZ Česká republika Prague Czech (cz) Czech koruna(CZK)
Romania 2007 RO România Bucharest Romanian (ro) leu (RON)
Slovakia 2004 SK Slovensko Bratislava Slovak (sk) euro (€)
Slovenia 2004 SI Slovenija Ljubljana Slovenian (sl) euro (€)
Spain 1986 ES España Madrid Spanish (es) euro (€)
Suede 1995 SE Sverige Stockholm Swedish (sv) Swedish krona(SEK)
UK 1973 UK, GBN 5 United Kingdom London English (en) Pound sterling (GBP)
  1. ↑ The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which proclaimed independence is not recognized internationally, formally part of the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, a member of the European Union, it is excluded for the purpose of most provisions of the Treaties of the European Union.
  2. ↑ The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus does not use the euro, but the Turkish currency.
  3. ↑ EL representing the Hellenic Republic Ελληνική Δημοκρατία GR and its territory (Interinstitutional Style Union).
  4. ↑ The capital of the Kingdom of the Netherlands is Amsterdam, but The Hague is the seat of government of the State of the Netherlands (excluding the United States overseas that are not in the EU).
  5. ↑ UK representing State, GB representing the metropolitan territory of the United Kingdom on the island of Great Britain, excluding Northern Ireland. (The Isle of Man and the bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey are British possessions of the Crown and are not formally part of the United Kingdom, are not part of either the United Kingdom”s overseas territories who are mostly not part of either the European Union, to the exclusion of Gibraltar who has a special status). Only the United Kingdom itself belongs to the European Union, the Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey are not (Interinstitutional Style Union).

Outermost regions

The outermost regions are part of the European Union. They include:

  • Four of the five overseas departments (DOM) French: Guadeloupe (GP), French Guiana (GF), Martinique (MQ) and Reunion (RE), as well as community overseas French St. Martin;

  • The two autonomous Portuguese regions: the Azores (AZO) and Madeira (Mad);

  • An autonomous community in Spain: Canary Islands (Can).

Candidate countries and potential candidates

European countries with a democratic government with a market economy, with the will and the ability to apply the laws of the European Union already established and meet the Copenhagen criteria and in Article 49 Treaty on European Union European eligible to join the European Union.

The European Union recognizes six candidates who filed their application and have been accepted in principle. These states have begun or will soon begin the accession process by adopting European laws to align these States to the rest of the Union. Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia are among the countries of the former Yugoslavia who had their applications accepted. The other two states of the breakup of the country, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo have the status of potential candidate. Albania has already made it on the application file in 2009 without it is recognized, the European Commission has recommended 10 October 2012 to grant Albania candidate status. Turkey submitted its application in 1987 and received candidate status in 1999. This owes as much to the difficulty of aligning the country with the standards of the EU and political issues surrounding the country”s accession. For its part, Iceland has obtained candidate status recognized within one year (16 July 2009 – 17 June 2010).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *